NXOS support for getter commands

Hi all,

I’m new to automation and trying to start doing some scripts to get network stats using nornir/napalm. I’m trying to get ntp stats on my devices using real hardwares and gns3. I’m able to get ntp_stats on regular IOS box but was having issues with NXOS. I found that “get_ntp_stats” is not supported on NXOS_SSH getters support matrix. (https://napalm.readthedocs.io/en/latest/support/)

1. Does any know if " get_ntp_stats" command and the rest below will be supported for NXOS_SSH anytime soon? If yes, any timeline when they will be supported? I was hoping i could use these for my requirements.
  • get_ntp_stats
  • get_bgp_config
  • get_bgp_neighbors_detail
  • get_interfaces_counters
  1. “get_bgp_neighbors” are supported for NXOS_SSH but the result is empty for both real hardware and gns3 nxosv. Any idea why? I’m not getting any error messages though.
  • NXOSV-GNS3 ** changed : False *****************************************************
    vvvv napalm_get ** changed : False vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv INFO
    {‘get_bgp_neighbors’: {}}
    ^^^^ END napalm_get ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  • Nexus 9000** changed : False ***************************************
    vvvv napalm_get ** changed : False vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv INFO
    {‘get_bgp_neighbors’: {}}

Thanks in advance.

Can you share your code that fetches get_bgp_neighbors?

Here’s my code, after a few testings somehow it worked a bit for Nexus 9K but it seems a hit or miss. Sometimes i get a result sometimes get a traceback error. For Nexus 6K it just wont work in my environment and just gets an empty list. See below for the traceback error on the N9K:

from nornir import InitNornir
from nornir.plugins.functions.text import print_result
from nornir.plugins.tasks.networking import napalm_get

nr = InitNornir(
config_file=“configs.yaml”, dry_run=True
)

results = nr.run(